Nanny’s gooey half baked potatoes

This is a recipe I remember eating all the time growing up. Every time I stayed over with my grandmother she would make this for me. To this day it is still some good comfort food.

What you will need

Potatoes about two per person is what I do.
Shredded cheese ( I like marble, but you can use any kind) about 1 ounce per potato
Canola oil
Bacon bits

Preheat oven to 425 c
First using a fork poke holes all throughout the potato. This will help it to cook better.
Coat the potato with the oil and cook in the oven. For my oven it takes aprox 30-40 mins to get a nice crispy potato skin.

Next I let it cook down so I can work with it without burning my hands. Cut each potato length ways and carefully pull out the insides into a bowl.

Mash the insides and add about half ounce of cheese per potato into the bowl and about 1/4 ounce of cooked bacon bits.
if you like green onions or potato “extras” now is the time to add it.

After that is down put the mashed potatoes back into the skins. sprinkle remaining cheese and bacon then place back into the oven until the cheese is melted.

Eat as is or add Sour cream for more taste.

Leave a Reply

